Universtiy of Miami Miller School of Medicine Graduate Studies

Edward J. Green Memorial Award

During the 18 years Ed Green was a faculty member of the Neuroscience PhD Program until his death from cancer in June, 2010, he had served on the Neuroscience Steering Committee, chaired the Neuroscience Admissions Committee, taught the graduate Neuroanatomy course, participated in the teaching of Neuroscience II, and served on many qualifying and dissertation committees for Neuroscience students. Active in research and broadly knowledgeable in neuroscience, Ed was a thoughtful and conscientious person who always took the time to help graduate students, postdocs and faculty colleagues. With a selfless attitude, professionalism and dedication to the Neuroscience PhD Program that was extraordinary, he played a large part in the development of this outstanding graduate program.

The University of Miami’s Graduate Neuroscience Program invites faculty, postdocs and students affiliated with the Neuroscience Ph.D. Program to nominate an upper level Neuroscience PhD candidate to receive the Program’s Edward J. Green Memorial Award, to be presented at Neuroscience Day. The award is to be given annually to an upper level Neuroscience PhD candidate who best exemplifies the qualities of Dr. Green, including: scholarship, citizenship and service, dedication to the Program, and a spirit of cooperation and selflessness. The recipient will be given a cash award and a plaque, and the student’s name will be engraved on a permanent plaque displayed in the graduate Neuroscience Program Office.

Award Recipients

Nadee Nissanka – 2017
Nicole Wilson – 2016
Cristina Matthewman – 2015
Charles Cohan – 2014
Meghan O-Connell Blaya – 2013
Khalilia Morris-Blanco – 2012
Brandon Kitay – 2011
Andrea Johnstone – 2010